My End of Term Report

I’ve used surveys before. This is the first time I’ve written up the results publicly; I’m hoping that it will help me remember the key points. I’ve decided to present the data, a selection of comments and my responses for each questions I asked.

You can see the original survey here

Inevitably when you ask formative questions, it can feel as if the feedback is quite negative, and I have had to remind myself that most of the data is positive!

Mr Pearce’s lessons have been _________ other lessons.

much more interesting than 5%
more interesting than 41%
similar to 36%
less interesting than 16%
much less interesting than 2%
More field trips please! The difficult extension questions are really interesting – could we go through the answers more often.
More practice of exam style questions. Less time spent proving and understanding why things work. – This sentiment was repeated by 2 others.
Maybe more interaction like going up to the board and doing this interactive
More math-robics please! It makes me concentrate on the task at hand.
More really generic examples we can look back to for if we are stuck

I phrased the question as being ‘relative to other lessons’ because it was the best way I could think to make it meaningful.  I teach in a very good school with outstanding colleagues so I’m surprised that it came out positive on average.  There is probably a ‘being nice to the teacher’ effect – I imagine that all lessons would be more interesting than average.

My y10 class suggested more interactivity – my recent inquiry lessons would have been an excellent opportunity to do this: I could have asked pupils to present their contexts for the time-graphs on the board, rather than writing them up myself.  I’ll try to be more alert for such opportunities.  I’m glad they have enjoyed my math-robics, it’s a nice way to break up a double lesson in the afternoon, but I don’t think I’ll be using it any more regularly!

Three sixth form students would like more exam practice in place of “understanding why things work” – I’m dubious about whether this will really make lessons more interesting?! I think they answered the substitute question: “what do you want me to do differently?” which I’ll come back to later.  A suggestion of ‘more generic examples’ is similar.

The request for more time spent on ‘difficult extension questions’ comes from a mixed class with some incredibly high achieving pupils – as much as I’d love to spend more time discussing the STEP problems I’ve been offering as extensions, I don’t think that this would be a good thing to do with the whole class, as these questions are not suitable for others.

I feel ___________ comfortable to work hard and make mistakes in Mr Pearce’s classes than in other lessons

much more 8%
more 38%
similarly 49%
less 5%
much less 0%
you react in a friendly manner and i do not feel pressured to get it right and therefore i try to work without the teachers aid and only call him over to check my answers or when i am totally stuck and my partner is too
Mr Pearce allows us to be open in class & is a much better teacher than my previous maths teacher!
Good class atmosphere – feels like more of a discussion.
Should be allowed to ask for help more
Again, the fact that the lessons generally are aimed towards the top 3-5 in the class. Fear I may seem stupid asking some questions

Generally quite positive, which I’m sort of surprised about, as my friends often joke that I’m far too harshly critical to be a teacher – I’m glad to see this doesn’t come through too strongly!

Even so, two people are unhappy: One of my y12 pupils thinks that the lessons are aimed towards the top end of the class, so I must make sure I’m differentiating more carefully.  The other doesn’t feel that they can ask for help, which worries me slightly: my classes are generally small so I always have lots of time to help.  I guess I should keep repeating pleas for pupils to ask and targeting particularly quiet ones.

The balance between independently working things out for myself and Mr Pearce telling me how to solve problems has been…

much too teacher-led 0%
too teacher-led 0%
about right 71%
too independent 27%
much too independent 2%
Often the maths is not fully explained, so I get stuck. Making notes on a topic with explanations of how to solve different kinds of problems would also be very useful
Too much time focusing on derivation of equations etc not enough making sure they are securely in our head and that we have an understanding of their applications
I don’t think the methods are sufficiently discussed in class, as generally we cover them too quickly (or not enough questions) and then I am not completely confident in the method.
Sometimes I feel like it takes me too long to work things out for myself and by the time I do we have completely moved on to a different topic.
When I am stuck, a lot of the time I don’t know how to continue

As the author of a blog called ‘discovery maths’ it’s not surprising to see that no pupils think that my lessons are too teacher-led. I also teach in a relatively traditional school, which makes my teaching stand out more than in my previous job, and so I feel that 71% of pupils saying that my balance is ‘about-right’ is quite surprising.

There are clearly a significant minority of pupils who are not comfortable with my approach, so I need to tone it down a little, with certain classes in particular. I agree that there are definitely certain topics where I need to provide more/better guidance. Similarly, sometimes I should move the class more quickly to generalise, allowing more time for application of rules. Finding the right balance in these two areas in one of my major aims as a teacher and I’m constantly trying to improve my decision making and target it more appropriately for individuals and classes. Next term I’m going to try to provide more back-up guidance, such as ‘gap fill’ worksheets for pupils who are stuck when trying to generalise.

Additional, I will try to sometimes offer alternative options to pupils who are particularly set against discovery, such as studying examples in their textbook. I also need to make sure I always conclude the process of discovery with a summary and example: I think I currently do this 95% of the time but apparently not often enough.  I’m also trying to make my notes clearer by typing them (now that I’m quite fast on equation editor!) and ensuring I include discussion notes/annotation as well as just the mathematical process.

Finally, not knowing how to continue when stuck is a common problem and one I should definitely try to address. Several years I had a big push towards instilling some of the problem solving strategies from Thinking Mathematically, but I need to constantly remind myself to bring these ideas into classes every time I teach a new class.

Mr Pearce’s written feedback is helpful.

Strongly agree 18%
Agree 77%
Disagree 5%
Strongly disagree 0%
Sometimes set your own questions so there is no way of checking that the answer is correct before submitting it, so it enforces rigorous checking of the work beforehand.
A much more formal prep structure would be helpful to gain an accurate assessment of how we’re doing periodically.
I find it hard to identify which questions to do so would appreciate if more specific ones were recommended
Please could you send us the solutions to the extension problems set the week before.
It would help if you gave a worked solution for a question that i struggled on.

I had a new idea in August, so as usual went with it wholeheartedly: allowing sixth form pupils to choose their own homework.

Generally I think it has been effective. Most pupils have targeted their work carefully to tackle their weaknesses. There has been much better differentiation in the difficulty of problems tackled. It has encouraged greater reflection and independence: I’ve seen more evidence than before of pupils learning from their mistakes, and many pupils have engaged in very useful written dialogue with me. The quantity of work done has impressed me – normally more than I would have set. In fact, the only negative from my point of view is that it is taking me longer to give written feedback!

However, some pupils clearly aren’t enjoying it! One pupil doesn’t feel that they can choose appropriate questions so I need to spend longer explaining how to do so. (I’ve already dedicated a fair amount of time to this and I do give a suggested list of questions for each topic so I’m surprised, though it’s useful to know).

A more legitimate concern is that a couple of pupils don’t feel they are getting a sense for their progress. Personally, I’ve never found homework to be a particularly useful summative assessment tool: the variety of effort exerted and assistance sought means it rarely gives a fair impression of a pupil’s understanding. Instead, I use it formatively and set fairly substantial tests in class to get an idea of progress. Next term, I’m going to set more regular mini-tests (inspired by Colleen Young) which should hopefully address this.

Another good point was that a pupil wanted to be in a position where they couldn’t look up the answers, in order to enforce them checking their work more carefully.  I can see the advantages of this, especially as we get closer to exams, so I’ll set one or two assessment homeworks later this term.

Two other comments request written solutions to problems. I’d rather not give these out directly, as educational research and personal experience tells me that they won’t help pupils to remember ideas in the long term. However, I must remind my pupils that if my hints / solution starters are not helpful enough, they must ask me in class (or on the next homework) for further assistance.

Wow – this ended up being quite long, so I summarised the main points here.

3 thoughts on “My End of Term Report

  1. I really enjoyed your very honest post here, so many very interesting points, from you..and your students! I always value student views, they are after all at the receiving end of all or decisions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

